farewell

I’ve tried losing myself in books

Escaping in alternate realities

Uplifting my soul

With every page

Closing my heart

With every end.

I’ve tried pouring myself in white sheet

Smearing ink

Smudging lines

Words

Phrases

Prose

Poetry

Yet,

Every now and then,

My vision blurs

And my sheets are stained

And my books are drenched

And the words

And the phrases

And the prose

And the poetry

Won’t be enough

My cheeks are stained.

 

I’ve sought comfort in the bitterness of alcohol.

Losing my mind in the clinking ice

Forgetting

Why

I

Even

Came

I’ve sought comfort in the arms of another

Hid in another’s kisses

Hoping to erase your traces

Burying memories

With every touch

Every kiss

Every compliment

Every eye in my direction

I’ve sought comfort in the night

The breaking dawn aware

Of all my secrets

All my sighs

And

All my cries.

 

Leave a Reply

